About Greater Tubatse Municipality

The GTM is located north of the N4 highway, Middelburg, Belfast and Nelspruit, and east of the N1 highway, Groblersdal and Pietersburg. The area of jurisdiction is approximately 4 550 km in size and is known as the Middelveld as it is located between the Highveld and Lowveld regions. It forms part of the Sekhukhune District Municipality in the Limpopo Province. The district also includes Greater Groblersdal LM, Greater Marble Hall LM, Greater Makhuduthamaga LM and Greater Fetakgomo LM. The area was established after the local government elections of 2000 as an outflow of the municipal demarcation process. It comprises 29 wards represented by one councillor per ward and is administered by a local municipality of which the main offices are located in Burgersfort.

Composition of the area

  • The area is made up of 29 wards with 166 villages / suburbs, the vast majority being villages which are scattered throughout, particularly, the northern part of the GTM.
  • It further comprises 175 farms, which is indicative of the rural composition of the area, the strong reliance on mining and agriculture and subsistence farming and the dispersed settlement patterns informs the socio-economic development of the area. Of these farms 61 are under the control of tribal leadership.
  • There are Traditional Authorities and Magoshi within the GTM, which play a role in local management.
  • There is one main and three satellite municipal offices. The main offices are located at Burgersfort and the satellite offices at GaMapodile, Praktiseer and Ohrigstad.